Patient Reviews

Reviews for Encino, CA Ophthalmologist Brad Elkins, M.D. Refractive Surgery Explained Services

Patient Reviews

When it comes to choosing an eye doctor for you and your family, Ophthalmology Associates of the Valley (OAV) knows how important it is for you to holistically consider your options. In a huge area like Los Angeles, it may seem overwhelming to try and find a group that services both Encino and West Hills in California. To make it easier for you, the OAV team has compiled all of the online reviews in one spot. As you read through, our testimonials are from former and current patients, and we greatly appreciate the time they take to write them. Patient feedback allows us to ensure we continue maintaining our patient-centered perspective. We encourage you to read our customer testimonials and call us to schedule an appointment for additional information.

Filter40 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 23, 2022

Recently had cataract surgery in both eyes., I am very happy with the results. The pre-care , the surgeries themselves and the post care have been great. Dr Elkins does an awesome job and gave me confidence that the surgeries would be successful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 25, 2022

Dr. Elkins has been my ophthalmologist for a decade now. I put off cataract surgery for 2 years because of the pandemic, but I needn't have. Dr. Elkins, his surgical coordinator and staff wear masks, are vaccinated, and take every precaution against COVID.Recently, Dr. Elkins did cataract surgery (toric lenses) on both eyes. He and his technician painstakingly took precise measurements of the topography of each eye to determine the correct power, fit and position of each intra-ocular lens. Medicare doesn't cover toric IOLs, but I am so glad I paid for them--it was money well-spent. I have 20/20 vision now and only use glasses for reading--which is to be expected. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.C.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 23, 2022

Been seeing Dr. Elkins in the West Hills office for years. State of the art equipment. He performed my cataract surgery. Always excellent explanations of any and all procedures.Personable and caring. Absolutely the best. Highly recommended. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from W.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 20, 2022

Dr Elkins was extremely helpful and advised me that I should have cataract surgery to help my vision. I plan to do that as soon as possible. Office staff is friendly and efficient especially in choosing new glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 08, 2022

my optometrist was patient, informative and was wonderful to work with. Dr. Elkins seemed to spend more than ample time with the examination and answered all of out concerns. this was the best eye appointment a have ever experienced. Fingers crossed for my cataract surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 11, 2022

I am 83 years old and have had Lasik and cataract surgery performed by Dr. Elkins and I can read without glasses and see distance without glasses only need lenses for night driving he is the best More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 19, 2021

Ophthalmology Associates Of The Valley is the best. It's the first place I have ever been that made me feel like I had options. Dr. Lilia Babakhan is very kind and makes you actually want to see the letters clearer. Dr Zeegen and Dr Elkins are beyond amazing and really took the time and steered me in the right direction. Dr Elkins did the cataract surgery for me and it went better than expected. If I lived across the country, I would fly back to LA to have them take care of my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Oct 06, 2021

I just love the entire office staff on top of the great doctor Elkins, I always walk away with a smile and they are not dentists. LOL More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 30, 2021

Ophthalmology Associates Of The Valley is the best. It's the first place I have ever been that made me feel like I had options. Dr. Lilia Babakhan is very kind and makes you actually want to see the letters clearer. Dr Zeegen and Dr Elkins are beyond amazing and really took the time and steered me in the right direction. Dr Elkins did the cataract surgery for me and it went better than expected. If I lived across the country, I would fly back to LA to have them take care of my eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 01, 2021

Dr. Elkins is an extraordinary doctor and surgeon. I feel so fortunate to be his patient. He has taken care of me for a long time; through cataract surgery and other issues of the aging eyes. I could not be more pleased with his care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 05, 2021

Great office staff, medial assistants and Dr. Elkins is fantastic. Overall outstanding service with a smile. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 04, 2021

Thank you Dr. Elkins for removing my moms cataracts. You are so patient and calm and she loved your personality. We couldn’t ask for more. You are a great doctor and our best choice. Thank you again Dr. Elkins. I wish there were more caring doctors around like you. My moms cataract surgery went so smooth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.C.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 29, 2021

I have used this doctor for over 20 years. My wife had cataract surgery on both eyes performed by Dr. Elkins. I have now renamed her EAGLE EYES. Great job!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 28, 2021

Dr Brad Elkins is the best ophthalmologist ever!!! Dr Elkins performed my mom’s cataract surgery and she’s very satisfied with the results. The Dr is very comforting and compassionate and really took care of my mom. He is excellent at what he does and really takes care of his patients.  I would recommend Dr. Elkins to anybody who needs to get cataract surgery or any other surgery. Thank you Dr. Elkins for being a caring doctor. We need more Doctors like you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 28, 2021

Dr Brad Elkins is the best ophthalmologist ever!!! Dr Elkins performed my mom Khalida’s cataract surgery and she’s very satisfied with the results. The Dr is very comforting and compassionate and really took care of my mom. He is excellent at what he does and really takes care of his patients.  I would recommend Dr. Elkins to anybody who needs to get cataract surgery or any other surgery. Thank you Dr. Elkins for being a caring doctors. We need more Doctors like you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 13, 2021

DR. Elkins had been my Valley ophthalmologist for a number of years now, and I've always been satisfied with the care he's given me and the concern he has in monitoring any disease of the various eye disease I may be subject. In addition, he has successfully performed cataract surgery and without any subsequent issues. All in all, I will continue to see Dr. Elkins and trust that if any eye problems develop that he will be able to treat them with a successful outcome. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 27, 2020

As always, my visit to Dr. Elkins was excellent. The office staff and technicians are always professional and efficient. I highly recommend this office. Dr. Elkins performed my Lasik surgery and Cataract surgery.He is outstanding. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 19, 2020

I have been going to Dr. Elkins for years he is a superb doctor. He spends time explaining Everything thoroughly.. He has done both my eyes for cataract surgery and he made it a breeze. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 14, 2020

All of his office staff was excellent, friendly, and very efficient. Dr. Elkins never made me feel rushed and answered all my questions, prior to my cataract surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.P.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 28, 2020

Dr. Elkins is THE BEST !! He literally gave me 20/20 vision with cataract surgery and lens implants. I am so grateful. I wore corrective lenses since the age of 12. It’s beyond wonderful that I now have perfect vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 27, 2020

Dr. Elkins did cataract surgery on my eyes two years ago. My sight is perfect and I have had no problems. He inspires confidence and trust. Every time I see him I have renewed admiration and respect. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 07, 2020

I am so impressed with Dr Elkins. Even in this stressful time he is immediately responsive to phone calls and needs.My cataract surgery was a FANTASTIC success. I see colors I didn't realize were SO brilliant, they were so gray before, and I didn't even know it. I read the street signs I couldn't see before until I was literally on top of them when driving, and I read, even the computer, without glasses. What more could anyone want? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

Dr. Elkins performed my cataract surgery. My before and after appointments went smoothly, all the staff were professional and pleasant and I can’t say enough about Dr. Elkins.....I’m so relieved to find a forever ophthalmologist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 15, 2019

Dr. Elkins is wonderful. The entire team was through, friendly, and efficient.From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with a smile. Thank you OAV!! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.H.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 12, 2019

Dr Elkins is very smart. If there is a problem, I feel fully confident that he will identify it and treat it or send me to a specialist who can. This practice is managed well regarding patient thru-put during the office visit and coordination between the medical practice and the optician services. They seem to have the latest diagnostic machines. Dr Elkins displays an intensity that can come off as cold and impatient. Once he starts conversing, he does relax and warm up. I would encourage Dr Elkins to make more small talk with his patients. It would relax him and his patients would feel cared for and listened to which is foundational to a doctor-patient relationship. One other comment - the staff and techs are competent and nice, but like my comment above, they don't come off as friendly at first. I think if they went back to basics: Introduce themselves - (Hello my name is _____ and I am the [their designation]. I am going to [ explain in simple terms what they will do]. And SMILE! From the patient perspective, you are ushered from one room to another quickly with little understanding as to the staff's role in the practice, what they are doing and why, and you do not even know their name. These are simple fixes that can make the pt experience much improved. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 04, 2019

Thinking about getting your cataracts taken care of? I’ve spent the last 3 years doing your homework for you, and I’m about to demystify the process, allay your fears and give you all of the keys to the kingdom you’ll ever need.I have been to a number of well-known ophthalmologists and a world famous eye institute, but, after my extensive studies, the best of the best and the only one I fully trusted was Brad Elkins. Dr. Elkins answers any and all questions, no matter how insignificant or stupid you might think they are. (And, believe me, I am the master of stupid questions, unreasonable fears and oblique reactions - I really should have worn a  big chicken costume going in). I understand that even will all your questions answered, you’ll still be fearful... it’s understandable, it’s human nature. But, Dr. Elkins is so well-educated, soothing and comforting in his presentation, that you will relax, trust and be fully prepared.Cataract surgery is not like Alex getting re-programmed in that haunting scene from "A Clockwork Orange", although going in, you might think so. For my left eye, I was as nervous as a cat on a hot tin roof, blabbering nervously and my blood pressure way too elevated... but, with the calming effects of the local, Dr. Elkins talked me through the process as it was going on, demystifying it fully, answering all of my racing brain’s questions and making sure I was calm and comforted through the whole procedure. It’s as if he and I were on a cool, fascinating and mystical trip together. (As an artist, I have to tell you, the colors, the imagery is like nothing you have ever witnessed before).For the second eye, I couldn’t wait to get on the gurney and get it done. I was with a group of smiling new friends (Dr. Elkin’s crew, all wonderful souls) who took really good care of me. It was like being at a great cocktail party and the camaraderie was fascinating and memorable. (And, I must say, Dr. Siegel makes an excellent cocktail!)I wish I had more eyes, so I could go through cataract surgery with Dr. Elkins many more times.Special kudos to the surgical team and the surgical coordinator, Ana, who is a constant smile, while keeping all the details covered and making you feel confidant and comfortable.No matter what I may say, you’re going to be nervous/scared, but following the surgery, you’ll be asking yourself, "What was my big fuss all about? That was great!"My cataract surgeries with Dr. Brad Elkins were painless, quick and the results are astounding. I can see the craters on the moon without a telescope, my art looks, as if, I have never seen it before and it’s great to be able to look deep into people’s eyes and make a full connection.Time to stop living in fear - get the surgery done already - and see your wonderful world, as it was meant to be seen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 04, 2019

Thinking about getting your cataracts taken care of? I've spent the last 3 years doing your homework for you, and I'm about to demystify the process, allay your fears and give you all of the keys to the kingdom you'll ever need. I have been to a number of well-known ophthalmologists and a world famous eye institute, but, after my extensive studies, the best of the best and the only one I fully trusted was Brad Elkins. Dr. Elkins answers any and all questions, no matter how insignificant or stupid you might think they are. (And, believe me, I am the master of stupid questions, unreasonable fears and oblique reactions - I really should have worn a  big chicken costume going in). I understand that even will all your questions answered, you'll still be fearful... it's understandable, it's human nature. But, Dr. Elkins is so well-educated, soothing and comforting in his presentation, that you will relax, trust and be fully prepared. Cataract surgery is not like Alex getting re-programmed in that haunting scene from "A Clockwork Orange", although going in, you might think so. For my left eye, I was as nervous as a cat on a hot tin roof, blabbering nervously and my blood pressure way too elevated... but, with the calming effects of the local, Dr. Elkins talked me through the process as it was going on, demystifying it fully, answering all of my racing brain's questions and making sure I was calm and comforted through the whole procedure. It's as if he and I were on a cool, fascinating and mystical trip together. (As an artist, I have to tell you, the colors, the imagery is like nothing you have ever witnessed before). For the second eye, I couldn't wait to get on the gurney and get it done. I was with a group of smiling new friends (Dr. Elkin's crew, all wonderful souls) who took really good care of me. It was like being at a great cocktail party and the camaraderie was fascinating and memorable. (And, I must say, Dr. Siegel makes an excellent cocktail!) I wish I had more eyes, so I could go through cataract surgery with Dr. Elkins many more times. Special kudos to the surgical team and the surgical coordinator, Ana, who is a constant smile, while keeping all the details covered and making you feel confidant and comfortable. No matter what I may say, you're going to be nervous/scared, but following the surgery, you'll be asking yourself, "What was my big fuss all about? That was great!" My cataract surgeries with Dr. Brad Elkins were painless, quick and the results are astounding. I can see the craters on the moon without a telescope, my art looks, as if, I have never seen it before and it's great to be able to look deep into people's eyes and make a full connection. Time to stop living in fear - get the surgery done already - and see your wonderful world, as it was meant to be seen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

Before touring Japan in May 2018, I decided to have cataract surgery done for both eyes in March 2018. Dr. Elkins has been my opthamologist for many years. He is very easy to talk to, and he (and his Surgery Coordinator, Ana Robles), will completely explain what you will experience in terms of what you will hear, smell, and feel during the course of the cataract surgery--before, during and post-op. Extensive tests are done on your eyes pre-surgery at Dr. Elkins' office, so that everything will go smoothly on the actual surgery date. In my case, my surgeries were done one week apart, at the Surgery Center near Dr. Elkins' office. Eye surgery can cause anxiety and nervousness--but Dr. Elkins and his staff do everything possible to minimize those feelings. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 25, 2018

I’ve been a patient of Dr. Elkins for many many years. I recently had cataract surgery that was very successful. Not only were Dr. Elkins and the staff in his  office professional, helpful and caring, but the staff at the surgery center were excellent. I usually have difficulty with IV insertion, but the nurse was terrific. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.K.  |  Source: Google  |  May 14, 2018

I have been a patient of Ophthalmology Assoc. for over 15 years. Dr. Brad Elkins has always been my doctor of record and has performed cataract surgery on my eyes. The office is clean, efficient, and takes care of business. I highly recommend this practice for your eye care needs. The store next to the offices sells wonderful eye frames at competitive prices. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2018

OAV has outstanding opthalmologists, state of the art equipment and top notch technicians. Dr. Brad Elkins did cataract surgery on both of my eyes and I recommend him highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 24, 2018

I’ve been seeing Dr. Elkins for almost two years now and most recently he performed cataract surgery on my right eye. I couldn’t be more pleased with the results. It’s still hard to believe that the surgery was ever performed because it went so smoothly, and it now is almost a month since its completion without any complications. I attribute this to Dr. Elkins skill as a surgeon, the outpatient facility where the surgery was performed and to Dr. Elkins’ surgical coordinator, Ana Robles. Not only does Dr. Elins have outstanding academic credentials, but he’s personable and attentive and a first class ophthalmologist as far as I’m concerned. I’ve recommended him to my wife, who now uses his services, and I would have no hesitation in recommending other members of my family or friends to Dr. Elkins for their eye care. The only thing left is to see for yourself, and you’ll see better because of it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 25, 2017

If I could rate with SIX stars, I would!!!!!Dr. Brad Elkins, all the staff at Ophthalmology Associates of the Valley and the staff at Freedom Vision Surgery Center are the consummate professionals!!!!  I had my cataract surgery scheduled and everything went exactly as planned.  Dr. Elkins is the very best for this procedure.  I had virtually no discomfort and was back to almost 20/20 vision within a few days.  Everything was brighter, clearer and colors are much truer.  He explained the whole procedure and left me feeling very comfortable with what was going to happen.  The best comment was from one of the OR nurses--she said if she ever has a problem with her eyes she would got to Dr. Elkins!  I highly recommend OAV and Dr. Brad Elkins for any eye concerns.  And Ana (his surgery coordinator) is the absolute best!!  She makes you feel at ease and is always available to answer questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 07, 2017

Dr. Elkins just did a cataract surgery for me. I was reborn in just one day, the colors so vivid and bright  It’s like a new world out there. He was wonderful, treated me with such care. He was precise in everything we discussed and I have never felt so secure with a doctor as I did with Dr. Elkins. He’s a SUPER DOCTOR AND IT SHOWS, he is perfection in every way imaginable. I couldn’t recomment him enough with 5 stars it should be double that. Trust me you will be in the best hands imaginable!    SHIRLEY FRIEDMAN, WOODLAND HILLS More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 31, 2016

This is the A-Team...no doubt about it. Dr. Elkins and his entire staff over at OAV could not have been nicer. They made the cataract surgery a piece of cake for me... Totally professional, courteous and just overall nice y’know?All the worrying and apprehension I had about them working on my eyes was for nothing.The results are UNBELIEVABLE! Everything I heard about the procedure was true... I could see better immediately, brighter colors, sharper images, no pain, no discomfort, inside of 2 days, my vision was 20/20+The nurses and doctors over at the surgery center were super... fantastic people... they deserve credit as well... their bedside manner was great, they are the unsung heroes!Dr. Elkins himself was just amazing... cool... calm... professional... Highly recommended... I wish I could give more than 5 starsAnyone who needs the surgery should run... not walk to the office!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 31, 2016

I had an amazingly good experience with Dr. Elkins and his entire staff. They were very professional and courteous throughout the process of my cataract surgery. The results are quite phenomenol... everything people told me about it was true. Brighter colors, sharper images... In fact everything looks kind of 3D.The surgery center nurses and the anesthesiologist could not have been nicer.All the nervousness and anxiety about them working on my eyes was wasted energy... the whole process was just top-notch all around.Dr. Elkins is highly recommended and anyone who needs the surgery should run... not walk the office!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 30, 2015

Dr. Brad Elkins did an extraordinary job on not one, but two cataract surgeries. When I found out I had a dense, fast-growing cataract in my left eye, I was alarmed and anxious. When I was driving at night, I noticed things weren’t as sharply in focus. I thought I was too young for cataract surgery, but Dr. Elkins explained that some people who are very near-sighted, develop cataracts earlier than traditionally expected. (Dr. Elkins was referred to me by the Head of Retinology at the Doris Stein Institute at UCLA, Dr. Stephen Schwartz, on whose parents Dr. Elkins had operated successfully.) Dr. Elkins, his office assistants and surgical team, gently and professionally walked me through every step of the procedure, and eased any concerns I had about the surgery. Initially I was only going to have the cataract surgery done on my left eye, and wait awhile for the surgery on the right eye but, when I could see 20/15 with the operated left eye, I couldn’t wait for the right eye’s surgery to be done, and scheduled it a week later. The procedures were painless, and the results very exciting to me. I haven’t seen this well since I was six years old. What a joy to awaken and to be able to see everything with glasses or contacts!I thank God for the wonderful gift of sight, and for Dr. Elkins. Dr. Elkins is blessed with the gift of healing and, for me, there is none better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 29, 2015

By far the best experience I have had with a surgery.Dr Elkins has golden hands!I had cataract surgery in both eyes, with toric lenses placed to correct both vision and astigmatism.  Immediately after the surgery, which was quick and painless, my vision had already improved dramatically.  By the next day I was 20/20.I cannot say enough about how wonderful Dr. Elkins is.  Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 14, 2012

Was referred to Dr. Elkins by Robert Teagle, OD, Santa Clarita for analysis of cataracts, its removal and implanting permanent lenses in my eyes.  An appointment was made immediately.  From the moment I entered Dr. Elkins' office I felt comfortable and knew I was in good hands.  All of the staff was friendly, competent, knowledgable and concerned.  Dr. Elkins explained the various options to restore my vision in language I could understand.  Always a smile and he I knew by his confidence I would be well cared for.  I received permanent lens implants at the West Hills Hospital outpatient facility.  Absolutely the best care.  The surgery was easy, comfortable and fast.  The results are incredible.  My sight is phenomenal.  Dr. Elkins is the best.  The level of care and attention is off the scale.   Eye surgery can a frightening event.  Dr. Elkins removed all fear and the results are even better than what he described.  Go see Brad Elkins.  I can't recommend him highly enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 14, 2012

Was referred to Dr. Elkins by Robert Teagle, OD, Santa Clarita for analysis of cataracts, its removal and implanting permanent lenses in my eyes.  An appointment was made immediately.  From the moment I entered Dr. Elkins’ office I felt comfortable and knew I was in good hands.  All of the staff was friendly, competent, knowledgable and concerned.  Dr. Elkins explained the various options to restore my vision in language I could understand.  Always a smile and he I knew by his confidence I would be well cared for.  I received permanent lens implants at the West Hills Hospital outpatient facility.  Absolutely the best care.  The surgery was easy, comfortable and fast.  The results are incredible.  My sight is phenomenal.  Dr. Elkins is the best.  The level of care and attention is off the scale.   Eye surgery can a frightening event.  Dr. Elkins removed all fear and the results are even better than what he described.  Go see Brad Elkins.  I can’t recommend him highly enough. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.