Patient Reviews

Reviews for Encino, CA Ophthalmologist David Lazar, M.D.

Patient Reviews

When it comes to choosing an eye doctor for you and your family, Ophthalmology Associates of the Valley (OAV) knows how important it is for you to holistically consider your options. In a huge area like Los Angeles, it may seem overwhelming to try and find a group that services both Encino and West Hills in California. To make it easier for you, the OAV team has compiled all of the online reviews in one spot. As you read through, our testimonials are from former and current patients, and we greatly appreciate the time they take to write them. Patient feedback allows us to ensure we continue maintaining our patient-centered perspective. We encourage you to read our customer testimonials and call us to schedule an appointment for additional information.

Filter79 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.W.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 17, 2022

Appreciated Dr. Elkins taking time to patiently explain tests and procedures as I requested. Also David and “N” , his assistants, were very helpful in that regard. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 13, 2022

Dr. Lazar is an excellent, caring doctor who makes enough time for his patience to address all concerns and answer all questions. He is knowledgable and approachable and has a terrific manner. My mother and I are both his patients and we are very happy under his care. The only issue is that is very busy office, so be prepared to wait for your appointment and sometimes in between testing/examination. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 25, 2022

The care I receive from Dr. Lazar and the entire support staff is always excellent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 13, 2022

From appointment availability to friendliness & competence, this office is wonderful. After seeing several other doctors for cataract surgery, Dr. Aizuss & his staff (including Dr. Lazar & Jeanie) gave me the confidence to go with him. So glad I did! And his team at the Freedom Surgical Center was awesome! Liza, KJ, Dana, Carmelo, Bridget, Dr. B, they were all wonderful! Thanks for a great experience. Getting ready for cataract #2! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 05, 2022

I am thankful Dr Lazar squeezed in! Excellent care as usual! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 04, 2022

I rarely write reviews, but I was very impressed with the professionalism of the entire staff at OAV. My appointment ran very smoothly and all the staff and Dr. Lazar was very considerate and educational. I am recommending OAV to my entire family and friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 24, 2022

Dr.Lazar explained the procedure and the surgery was successful. He monitored the progress post surgery during follow up visits. Overall it was a very satisfactory process and my retinal issues were resolved. Thank you Dr. Lazar. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 09, 2022

Excellent care all around! Both front & back office! Dr Lazar is the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 09, 2022

Dr Lazar has a wonderful way of explaining things . Really comfortable with the office in general More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 02, 2022

Very impressed with Dr. Lazar’s knowledge and concern for his patient’s overall health. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 02, 2022

As always, very happy with Dr. Lazar because of his expertise and the ability to make you comfortable. Amazing experiences. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 26, 2022

Dr. Lazar is a wonderful doctor. The staff is always very friendly. Only praise for all. Wish they would open an office in Ventura. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 26, 2022

Dr. Lazar is very pleased with my results and therefore I am so grateful. He is thorough and very assuring. Wish they had an office in Ventura. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 05, 2022

Dr Lazar and his staff did a careful and thorough job, explained diagnosis clearly and had a follow up plan. As a long time patient, OAV has earned my trust and confidence.Ann Trinz More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 28, 2022

Dr Lazar is the BEST! upbeat, kind, thoughtful, supportive. Macular degeneration is scary.I am reassured I am getting the finest of Care from Dr. Lazar. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 21, 2022

Dr. Lazar is wonderful. He explained everything to me that had concerned me. It was an excellent visit and I shall recommend him to friends if a retina specialist is needed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 08, 2022

Dr. Lazar responded to my concerns. Excellent explanation and discussion. Office is very well run with warm and efficient staff. A+ rating. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 31, 2022

Dr Lazar and dr Karlin we’re very knowledgeable and experienced they took care of my problems in a caring way I would recommend to my friends and family thank you dr Lazar and dr karlin I love you both More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 12, 2022

Dr Lazar comes in the room completely present, no distractions and explains things on a level that I could understand. He is kind, confident & the most knowledgable retina specialist I have ever seen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Feb 21, 2022

Dr Lazar is a great Dr, who is always willing to answer any questions I have. Takes time to explain any issues I have. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 28, 2022

Dr. Lazar is managing my wet AMD with care and has enabled me to lessen the frequency of the injections. I have full confidence in him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 28, 2022

Dr. Lazar resolved my diabetic macular edema quickly, with a brilliant approach. I am so relieved because of his innovative ideas. Best retina specialist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 13, 2022

Excellent Visit. Staff courteous and professional. All other personnel involved in my treatment of macular degeneration are knowledgeable, courteous and informed.Dr. Lazar is excellent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 06, 2022

Dr Lazar is so clear and "down to earth" and thorough. He's unhurried-never seems to rush. Makes me feel well taken care of. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Dec 31, 2021

I feel so fortunate and grateful the Dr. Lazar as my Doctor.Macular degeneration is scary and anxiety provoking.Dr. Lazar always broadcasts positive energy....inspires confidence & trust. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Dec 07, 2021

I give dr. David Karlin 10, for being an excellent Dr.,he is knowledgeable and took time to explain everything to me, i will recommend him to my family and friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Dec 02, 2021

Dr Lazar was very helpful and gave me the right advise More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.T.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 25, 2021

Dr Lazar was very approachable as well as professional. He never gave an impression of just "going thru the motions" in his examination but rather exhibited a real interest in my situation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.T.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 18, 2021

I am impressed with the good care I received. I would like to have spent a little more time with Dr. Lazar, but the technician was with me a lot and answered my questions. I am impressed that I was told that I could come in that same day if it was really necessry. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 23, 2021

Excellent Dr. Lazar. Assistants excellent, knowledgeable and efficient. Staff friendly and caring More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 23, 2021

Dr. Lazar is the most professional and knowledgeable retina specialists I have been too. I have very high standards when it comes to choosing doctors for my family and me, and Dr. Lazar exceeds those standards. He is also very personable, which helps with having confidence in his care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 14, 2021

Dr lazar is very thorough and explains everything so that you understand, and gives you time to ask questions! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 09, 2021

my visit with Dr. Lazar was on time, pleasant and professional. . He is knowledgeable and cordial as he works with patients. I am totally pleased with the outcome. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 02, 2021

Dr. Lazar is an excellent doctor but the wait time was very long. I waited 45 minutes to go into an office and then did not see the doctor until I was there for 1 hour 15 minuets. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 26, 2021

Dr.Lazar is an amazing Doctor. He thoroughly explains your condition and answers all questions a patient may have. He has the ability to make a patient feel safe and secure in his care. There is no doubt that Dr. Lazar has the expertise and knowledge and confidence to handle all aspects if a patient. Gold star Doctor :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 26, 2021

Excellent as usual! I have been going to see Dr. Lazar for my wet macular degeneration ever since it was found by Dr. Aizuss (my regular Opthomologist in same group). Dr. Lazar is very knowledgeable, thorough, kind & injects my eye in the most comfortable way. No pain at all! He is always upbeat & takes time to explain your condition, your options & answer your questions. The whole office staff are warm, welcoming & skilled. I highly recommend Ophthamology Associates of the Valley! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 26, 2021

Excellent as usual! I have been going to see Dr. Lazar for my wet macular degeneration ever since it was found by Dr. Aizuss (my regular Opthomologist in same group). Dr. Lazar is very knowledgeable, thorough, kind & injects my eye in the most comfortable way. No pain at all! He is always upbeat & takes time to explain your condition, your options & answer your questions. The whole office staff are warm, welcoming & skilled. I highly recommend Ophthamology Associates of the Valley! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jul 08, 2021

Great experience with Dr Karlin, David excellent attention and care.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 24, 2021

Dr. Lazar is an expert and very helpful and calming with explanations and resolutions. I would recommend him to everyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 19, 2021

Dr. Lazar was very professional and patient with me as I had many questions regarding my retina tear. His treatment and follow up were and are excellent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 16, 2021

Please note: Dr. J. David Karlin, the doctor I had appointment with was not listed above. My appointment was encouraging and polite as before and I would recommend Dr. Karlin with highest regard. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 10, 2021

Dr. Lazar is an excellent physician and a warm, empathetic person. I am very happy that he is my physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 26, 2021

I would highly recommend Dr. J. David Karlin, M.D.. He was very thorough, honest and experienced. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 26, 2021

J. David Karlin, M.D More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.O.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 14, 2021

Dr. Lazar is amazing. I am so pleased that he is associated with OAV. He is knowlegable, kind and patient. Excellent bed-side manner. Sprcial thanks to Herman at the front desk who was amazing in his patient communication. As well as Tamika. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.W.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 12, 2021

Dr. Lazar and his staff were on time, examined my eyes, took pictures in a timely manner. They were very professinoal and friendly . Dr Lazar's surgery on my eye was a success and I would recommend him to others. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.W.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 12, 2021

Dr. Lazar and his staff were on time, examined my eyes, took pictures in a timely manner. They were very professinoal and friendly . Dr Lazar's surgery on my eye was a success and I would recommend him to others. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.E.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 08, 2021

A family friend Recommended me to see David. The staff was friendly, professional, answered all questions, I couldn’t recommend this practice more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 08, 2021

Best of the best...Dr. David Aizuss!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 05, 2021

Dr. Aizuss and staff are so professional, and everything works like clockwork. Waiting time is down to mere minutes, all the tests are run quickly and smoothly. Highly recommend Dr. David Aizuss!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 15, 2021

Dr. Lazar always is very pleasant and I leave very happy. He presents a very positive attitude. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 14, 2021

Dr Lazar is extremely personable, efficient and knowledgeable. He has a reassuring manner and trust me to pay attention to my vision changes and report them to him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 09, 2021

Great practice. You feel very secure and well attended for. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. Dr. Lazar is a terrific doctor who explains everything very well and has not only exceptional knowledge, but a wonderful manner. The only downside is there tends to be a wait to be seen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 09, 2021

The office scheduled an appointment for me within 24 hours because of an issue with my eyes. The staff was thorough, helpful and kind. Dr. Lazar is brilliant and he explained everything to me in detail about my situation and what to expect. I highly recommend this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 09, 2021

Great practice. You feel very secure and well attended for. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. Dr. Lazar is a terrific doctor who explains everything very well and has not only exceptional knowledge, but a wonderful manner. The only downside is there tends to be a wait to be seen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 05, 2021

Dr David Aizuss is an excellent doctor. I was very pleased with the visit and evaluation. I have recommended Dr Aizuss to other doctors and many friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 03, 2021

Didn't have my app't in your system.I was lucky that Dr. Lazar made room for mr anyhow.Ihad the app't on one of your reminder cards which I indeed have an app't that time and time. I hope it doesn't happen again. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 02, 2021

Dr. Lazar is a caring, helpful physician. His treatment of my eyes has proven most beneficial and his responses to my questions are always to the point and understandable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 01, 2021

Great. Everyone including Dr Lazar was so courteous and efficient. Couldn’t have asked for a better experience. So different than other doctors offices that I have visited recently. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 31, 2021

It was my first meeting with Dr. Lazar and he was very professional, informative, friendly and answered all of my questions. My experience at OAV was also very pleasant. Everyone I encountered was very pleasant and helpful. I will definitely continue using their services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 31, 2021

It was my first meeting with Dr. Lazar and he was very professional, informative, friendly and answered all of my questions. My experience at OAV was also very pleasant. Everyone I encountered was very pleasant and helpful. I will definitely continue using their services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 18, 2021

I was checked in safely; seen in a reasonable amount of time and Dr. Lazar was very attentive.The only problem is that I can't use the internet to access my records so I'd like to have them mailed (snail mail) to me, please. Please include the last three visits. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.R.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 16, 2021

It is a great feeling to be able to trust Dr David Karlin’s high level of knowledge, experience, and expertise, which is rare and hard to match. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 14, 2021

Dr. David Aizuss has been our Ophthalmologist for well over 20 years. In addition to our annual eye exams, he performed cataract surgery on both of my husband's eyes, with wonderful results. Dr. Aizuss is a highly trained professional whose experience and expertise we trust implicitly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 11, 2021

Dr. Lazar is not only technically competent, but has a very caring and patient demeanor as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 11, 2021

Great meeting Dr. Lazar-very easygoing and informative. Unrushed and clear in his explanations.Very impressive. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 10, 2021

David Aizuss is incredibly knowledgeable and has a warm “bedside” manner. I tryst him and his great crew with my vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.U.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 09, 2021

It has always been a pleasant experience coming to see Dr. David Aizuss. His chair-side manner can not be faulted and he has great staff assisting him. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 09, 2021

Every interaction with dr David Karlin is excellent. He’s pleasant, educational and thorough. I have confidence in him and refer him often. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Feb 18, 2021

Dr. Lazar is very skilled and is always in a good mood ' I would like it much better if I wouldn't have to wait anywhere from half an hour to much lengthier times. I am there on time.Aside from that I am very pleased. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.W.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Feb 12, 2021

The waiting room was spread out. Dr Lazar was very patient with my questions and reassured me every step of the way. I would highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.W.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Feb 12, 2021

The waiting room was spread out. Dr Lazar was very patient with my questions and reassured me every step of the way. I would highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Feb 10, 2021

Everyone always treats me so wonderfully there. From Dr Lazar to his technicians. It can be a very nerve wracking thing to have shots in your eye, but they all help to make me comfortable and relaxed. Five stars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Feb 10, 2021

Everyone always treats me so wonderfully there. From Dr Lazar to his technicians. It can be a very nerve wracking thing to have shots in your eye, but they all help to make me comfortable and relaxed. Five stars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 27, 2021

Extremely pleased with Dr. Lazar’s attentive care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 08, 2020

Dr. Lazar is a caring and concerned doctor....makes you feel extremely comfortable....and very reassuring .... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

It is continuing great experience to be in the excellent care of Dr. Lazar at OAV. He took really good care, surgically, of the problem that developed with my left eye's retina. Looking forward to gaining 20/20 vision again soon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

This is just a short Note to express my astonishing success story after being treated by Dr. David Aizuss, for cataract surgery during the very late part of November and early December 2019. My first contact was with the outrageously efficient and compassionate Jeanie Clarke, who is Dr. A's Surgical Coordinator. Jeanie is and was the best at keeping me informed of all aspects of my visits and future visits to their offices. Jeanie coordinated all aspects of pre-surgical and post-surgical appointments, and was on top of all matters pertaining to eye drops, appointments, drug interactions, and my expectations both before and after the surgeries. I cannot say enough good things about this very talented and skilled individual - who is really the first person a patient interfaces with when scheduling your eye surgery. So, everyone down or up the line in terms of staff, was cheerful, knowledgeable and well-schooled in the science of handling eye patients. All exams were conducted in the most professional manner and all aspects of the OAV were operated in the most efficient and skilled manner. All of the equipment used to measure, calibrate and record eye measurements leading up to the analysis of surgical vs. non-surgical intervention were "state-of-the-art" - and impressive. Even the Out-Patient facility utilized by Dr. Aizuss (Freedom Eye Surgical Center) was truly state-of-the-art and operated by the most qualified and experienced individuals. The Staff, surgical nurses and receptionists were highly trained in this specific area and nothing fell through the cracks. Now, as far as Dr. David Aizuss, he truly is my newest "Hero". Dr. A performed Intra Ocular Lens Implantation on my right and left eyes, one-week apart. The entire surgical experience was conducted in the most professional manner, with Dr. A explaining all aspects of the procedures I was about to undergo. I had pre-surgical exams and on the day of each surgery, I was treated like a member of the family - with all staff members expertly handling their own separate and distinct area of the surgical process. The actual surgery was completely painless, and I was given a thorough explanation of each and every aspect of what to expect while under the Laser and during the implant process. In each instance, Dr. A's explanation was thorough, comprehensive and understandable. Nothing was left as "guess-work" and I was prepared for each exam and each surgical procedure. Just one-day after each IOL was implanted I was restored to having excellent vision - pain free. I was overwhelmed by the new colors I was able to see and the visual acuity was astounding. As a few days went by I was even more amazed at how excellent my vision had been restored by Dr. A. Just one day after my second (left) eye was restored with an IOL, I was seeing colors and reading signs I was not able to see for the past 4 -5 years. Everything was bright and beautiful, and most particularly, in incredible focus. In conclusion, this was the very best result I could have hoped for, and Dr. A and his entire Staff of highly educated and specially trained personnel were the best anyone could have wished for. This was a nearly miraculous experience and one which I will always remember. My vision is terrific and still getting better each day. Thanks to everyone associated with Dr. Aizuss and OAV... Eric S. Gordon - I approve of this message... More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

My parents, my husband and myself are patients of Dr Aizuss, for over 10 years. He is very personable and caring toward his patients. His office and staff are very organized and friendly. I highly recommend Dr David Aizuss. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.