Patient Reviews

Reviews for Encino, CA Ophthalmologist Brad Elkins, M.D.

Patient Reviews

When it comes to choosing an eye doctor for you and your family, Ophthalmology Associates of the Valley (OAV) knows how important it is for you to holistically consider your options. In a huge area like Los Angeles, it may seem overwhelming to try and find a group that services both Encino and West Hills in California. To make it easier for you, the OAV team has compiled all of the online reviews in one spot. As you read through, our testimonials are from former and current patients, and we greatly appreciate the time they take to write them. Patient feedback allows us to ensure we continue maintaining our patient-centered perspective. We encourage you to read our customer testimonials and call us to schedule an appointment for additional information.

Filter24 Reviews  
4.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Dec 28, 2022

Dr. Elkins was very thorough as usual. However, I only had a brief procedure and waited 45 minutes before I was taken to start it. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Oct 19, 2022

Dr. Elkins is very knowledgeable, thorough and answers questions in a manner that is easy to understand. The only thing I would suggest is that for individuals who are extremely near sighted, such as myself, that after he has completed his examination, he allows time for the patient to put their contact lens back in their eyes so the patient can actually see his face as he explains his findings. It is very disconcerting to be looking at the doctor and only be able to see his extremely blurry form. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from W.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jun 20, 2022

Dr Elkins was extremely helpful and advised me that I should have cataract surgery to help my vision. I plan to do that as soon as possible. Office staff is friendly and efficient especially in choosing new glasses. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 20, 2022

Outside of waiting for 20 minutes before testing and 15 before seeing Dr. Elkins, my visit was great. The young woman administering the tests was thorough and professional but very cold. The assistant I saw before Dr. Elkins was delightful. And the doctor himself was his usual, charming self. All in all a very nice visit. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Oct 05, 2021

Dr. Elkins: 5 startsthe gal who did my eye pictures: 2stars. very impatient with me, no connection, almost irritated More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 16, 2021

Dr Elkins is the best. The only negative is having an appointment and arriving five minutes early and having to wait for twenty minutes to get called back. I think waiting 5-10 minutes past your appointment is fine but beyond that is not respectful of the patient that had an appointment. If there had been an emergency and I was told sorry were running late because of it. I would gladly waited to be seen. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 16, 2021

Dr Elkins is the best. The only negative is having an appointment and arriving five minutes early and having to wait for twenty minutes to get called back. I think waiting 5-10 minutes past your appointment is fine but beyond that is not respectful of the patient that had an appointment. If there had been an emergency and I was told sorry were running late because of it. I would gladly waited to be seen. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 14, 2021

From check/in to preliminaries to actual f2f time with Dr Elkins who was was attentive to my concerns and questions. Overall my annual exam was reassuring I have the best possible in eye care. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  May 14, 2021

From check/in to preliminaries to actual f2f time with Dr Elkins who was was attentive to my concerns and questions. Overall my annual exam was reassuring I have the best possible in eye care. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 20, 2021

Dr. Elkins was fine. I liked that he explained why certain things were done.I just did not care for being seen by 4 different technicians. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Dec 05, 2020

I always enjoy seeing Dr Elkins. I am always aware that I am just one short stop along the way through the trenches of a busy day. However, he is cordial and always professional.The doctor who performed the initial exam and testing was succinct and fairly agreeable while better needing to explain what was required of me to participate. In measuring the pressure of the eye, I would recommend that she inform the patient that she will be touching the eye as opposed to simply getting close to it. I kept pulling away and she kept correcting me. Finally I asked, you want to touch my eye? She replied yes. It also took some attempts before I was positioned behind the contraption to read the chart and to successfully fit me into the head brace for the eye pressure reading as well. I was perpetually too far from the equipment, causing me to strain forward through out the exam. I was sitting in an ophthalmologist's chair. Why not come to me? At the end of the exam I asked her, her name. Going out the door she hesitated, then replied Doctor ..... and disappeared. I could have replied that my name was Doctor......as well. I did not. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.V.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Dec 02, 2020

We’ve been going to doctor Elkins so long we were all different shades of brunettes back then so obviously we highly regard him as our eye doctor. We especially appreciate his thoroughness and listening to nuances of our vision complaints to be most accurate in problem solving . I do feel the need to add that as times change and pressures grow, I’ve noticed a slow and small decline in patient relations. Simply put, less time for chit chat, more rushed and onto the next patient. It’s not really a big thing but from my experience with other professionals it can become a decline and gradual loss of clients or patients which is why I’m noting it. Also, the woman at the check out counter may be stressed or over-worked but she was dismissive, not attentive to my file when directing me out the door. When I returned to get my prescription which she neglected to give me she responded something like: “You were hear for an office visit how was I to know (a prescription) was ready? Umm, that made no sense to me. True, when I returned five minutes later to get the prescription she was on the phone entering a new patient into the system so she was busy. Given that I was rushing to another appointment I did quietly ask if she could put that person on hold so she could give me the prescription. She declined to do that, waited to switch on boarding screens, printed out my prescription and handed it to me. It was just unpleasant, enough that I’ve been debating telling your office. When this survey arrived I chose to be honest. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 20, 2020

There was a bit of a long wait before I was seen, probably due to the Covad protocols that now need to be followed. And the seating in the waiting room was open (all seats available). But they seemed to be controlling the number of patients that were scheduled so there were no issues with keeping our distance. Otherwise everything went smoothly. I especially liked the physician that completed my refraction exam. She was patient and communicated very clearly. I have been a patient of Dr. Elkins since he first came to this practice to provide Lasik treatments. He is quick but thorough. I especially appreciate that he communicates clearly. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Aug 21, 2020

Dr. Elkins you are great! Thanks for trying to repair my eye. I was sort of left standing in the hallway, not knowing what to do for a few minutes, but in general I felt everything was handled well. I liked that your staff checked everyone in carefully & made sure that patients were safe from the COVID virus. For a very busy office, I think it was very well organized & all your staff are very nice. Thank you. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Apr 30, 2020

Only 1 out of three employees introduced themselves..In the office all patients and staff are required to wear masks. Staff and patients need to speak louder for those of us who have hearing impairments!Dr. Elkins and staff very thorough during exams. I would appreciate a printed sheet with test findings and some interpretations. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Mar 12, 2020

I've known Dr. Elkins a long time, but this was my first time at the new office in West Hills. I found the experience unpresonal, I don't know the staff anymore and I felt more a number more than the person to person visit. Please understand your staff was polite and nice, it just wasn't that small office friendly. You know where everyone knows you're name place. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Feb 19, 2020

The office is very professional, and Dr Elkins is very thorough, and a concerned Doctor . More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Jan 21, 2020

Hi. Everyone in your office is professional and friendly except for the receptionist at my. last appointment. When she called me up to the front desk, I said "hello." She didn't respond to that but did ask me questions regarding my appointment. So, I then said "Good morning," and she did not respond to that but asked me questions about my appointment. I realized she was not going to respond to my greeting or look at me so I just decided to answer her questions and wait for my appointment. I did mention this to Dr. Elkins. Thank you for taking the time to ask patients how their experience was. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.F.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Dec 04, 2019

Everyone was wonderful. It was great to see Dr. Elkins. He's been my doc for 40 years I think. Maybe 30. Everything was great but the person at the appointment desk as I was leaving was annoyed and a bit rude. There was a lot to put down and I'm just out of a sickbed.I wonder how it would have been for someone with a bit of dementia. She made me feel like an annoyance and an idiot. But everyone else was wonderful. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Nov 06, 2019

Dr Elkins is great. However my appointment was for 3 and I sat in the waiting room until 3;40. The tech that took the photos of my eye was very impatient and used a tone of voice I find unprofessional. She had trouble getting a good photo of my eyes and became as I said impatient and short. Perhaps a bad day but not a good example of customer service More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.L.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Oct 27, 2019

Dr Elkins makes me feel he has skills beyond his medical skill with his manor with patients. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.H.  |  Source: Demandforce  |  Sep 12, 2019

Dr Elkins is very smart. If there is a problem, I feel fully confident that he will identify it and treat it or send me to a specialist who can. This practice is managed well regarding patient thru-put during the office visit and coordination between the medical practice and the optician services. They seem to have the latest diagnostic machines. Dr Elkins displays an intensity that can come off as cold and impatient. Once he starts conversing, he does relax and warm up. I would encourage Dr Elkins to make more small talk with his patients. It would relax him and his patients would feel cared for and listened to which is foundational to a doctor-patient relationship. One other comment - the staff and techs are competent and nice, but like my comment above, they don't come off as friendly at first. I think if they went back to basics: Introduce themselves - (Hello my name is _____ and I am the [their designation]. I am going to [ explain in simple terms what they will do]. And SMILE! From the patient perspective, you are ushered from one room to another quickly with little understanding as to the staff's role in the practice, what they are doing and why, and you do not even know their name. These are simple fixes that can make the pt experience much improved. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 03, 2019

They've moved! Same building, but they just moved to Suite 300, which is a much bigger space. I was there on only the 2nd day in their new digs, so they were still figuring out where everything is, etc. The receptionists are always friendly, the optometrists are nice and helpful, and Dr. Elkins is always kind and super chill. Why only 4 stars? It's a bit inconvenient to have to deal with Andrea, who is (for lack of a better term) the "contacts" lady. She doesn't work in the West Hills office and has some pretty sweet hours (that is, not a full 9-5, ever). They should probably have a "contacts" person in each office. It won't stop me from returning, but it's an odd business practice. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 03, 2019

They’ve moved! Same building, but they just moved to Suite 300, which is a much bigger space. I was there on only the 2nd day in their new digs, so they were still figuring out where everything is, etc. The receptionists are always friendly, the optometrists are nice and helpful, and Dr. Elkins is always kind and super chill. Why only 4 stars? It’s a bit inconvenient to have to deal with Andrea, who is (for lack of a better term) the "contacts" lady. She doesn’t work in the West Hills office and has some pretty sweet hours (that is, not a full 9-5, ever). They should probably have a "contacts" person in each office. It won’t stop me from returning, but it’s an odd business practice. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.